服务器/存储器的下一次演进:在新环境中处理数据

无论是产品制造、上班、还是开展日常活动,当今社会对数据的使用程度比以往任何时候都要高得多。数据已经真正成为未来的原材料。据《物联网商业新闻》IoT Business News报道,到2025年,全球约有750亿台联网设备每年产生27zb的数据,数据雪崩还在持续增长。这些联网设备的好处,以及自动驾驶汽车、人工智能和机器学习的好处,只有通过高速互联网,特别是通过广泛推广的5G无线连接才能真正发挥作用。这些新技术设备产生海量数据,而这些数据形成了新技术设备的基础。为了处理和存储这些海量数据,硬件解决方案必须与天线、软件和5G的其它推动因素一同发展。

高速数据的激增将推动位于新环境中的智能设备的急剧增加。例如,随着物联网和工业物联网的发展,能够实时共享信息的机器可能彼此接近,比如智能工厂中的工业设备,也可能分散在很远的地方,比如智能汽车和农业设备。无论它们位于何处,智能机器和车辆都需要实时数据处理,因此,对计算设备巨型库的依赖将会不断增加。

超越传统数据中心

涉及到数据中心的传统信息处理常常使人联想到摆满了一个又一个机架的计算设备的大型仓库。虽然这些通信枢纽将构成未来数据处理解决方案的一部分,但它们只是整体战略的一项内容。一些机构,无论是商业机构还是政府机构,都会使用自己的专用服务器在本地处理信息,控制自己的数据需求。

物联网的持续发展和5G的广泛实施,将拓宽这些技术的应用广度,而每种应用都对数据处理有不同的需求。因此,每个服务器的安装将是不同的,服务器将被安装到世界各地的不同地区。边缘计算(edge computing)的增长正在将处理设备从数据中心转移到接近需求点的位置。越来越复杂的设备被安装在工业、运输和农业部门经常经历的具有挑战性的环境中,以及许多远离遮挡环境的其它应用场合中。

为了满足这种特殊需求,业界需要有高度灵活的解决方案。用户渴望从最新数据网络能力的提升中获益,他们需要确信他们的设备能够跟上不断增长的速度和数据需求。因此,最新的服务器和存储技术必须提供灵活性和可伸缩性,以配合达到更高的性能。这种适应性的关键是模块化架构的概念。

高性能硬件

最新一代的微处理器正在开发中,它具有更高的性能并能减少耗电。与此同时,配套硬件必须能够提供相同的性能,同时最大程度地减少损失。连接器领域的最新发展正在支持所有的这些行业需求。模块化提供了重新配置和升级服务器的能力,以适应未来的增长,连接器将在模块化服务器和存储设计中发挥重要作用。

为了支持高性能模块化的需求,Molex不断开发创新型方法来应对高速连接方面的挑战。传统的计算架构采用背板和大型印刷电路板。追求低损耗和改善信号完整性意味着需要替代技术来摆脱高损耗印刷电路板。板对板连接器正在被电缆解决方案所取代,竖管采用双轴电缆,以便以最小的损耗来实现高速数据传输。

与此同时,Molex正在努力确保在基础设施和其它相关成本方面提供具有成本效益的整体解决方案。虽然通过光学解决方案或有源器件(如重计时器和线性放大器)来提高高速通信性能的做法可能很诱人,但这些系统的耗电和相关热管理问题可能会增加成本,使成本攀升到不可接受的水平。通过开发无源铜缆系统,如电缆和连接器,可以满足高性能要求,Molex解决方案确保客户的安装保持竞争力。

连接器使模块化解决方案成为可能

如今,芯片制造商正在创建能够产生每秒112千兆比特(Gbps) 数据速率的解决方案,而每秒224千兆比特的数据速率也近在眼前。随着如此高的速度的出现,最新的服务器和存储硬件和连接解决方案需要在不牺牲性能的前提下提供灵活性和易用性。

连接性对于最新服务器架构的性能和模块化至关重要。了解Molex提供的广泛的服务器和存储器解决方案组合如何通过最新信号完整性和高速数据标准来提供灵活性和易用性,以应对复杂挑战。并了解如何进行平衡,以便满足更小尺寸和更高密度的需求,并同时有能力制造所需性能的产品。面对日益联结的世界,Molex不断创新,以领先于快速变化的行业需求。

New Product Development Manager
New Product Development Manager

The Next Server/Storage Evolution: Processing Data in New Environments

Whether for manufacturing goods, traveling to work or conducting day-to-day activities, society today uses data to a far greater extent than ever before. Data has really become the raw material of the future. And with an estimated 75 billion connected devices in the world generating 27 zettabytes of data a year by 2025 (according to IoT Business News) the avalanche of data keeps growing. The benefits of these devices, along with those of autonomous vehicles, artificial intelligence and machine learning, only truly work via high-speed Internet and especially through the widespread introduction of 5G wireless connectivity. To process and store the huge volume of data that acts as the foundation for and is generated from these new technologies, hardware solutions must advance in parallel with antennas, software and other enablers of 5G.

The proliferation of high-speed data will drive the sharp rise of smart equipment that’s located in new environments. For example, with the expansion of the Internet of Things and Industrial Internet of Things, machines equipped to share information in real time may be in close proximity to each other, such as industrial equipment in a smart factory, or they could be dispersed over great distances, as in the cases of smart vehicles and agricultural equipment. Regardless of their location, smart machines and vehicles need real-time data processing and, as a result, reliance on huge warehouses of computing equipment will evolve.

Beyond Traditional Data Centers

Traditional information processing involving data centers often conjures the image of large warehouses populated with rack after rack of computing equipment. While these hubs of communication will form part of the data processing solution of the future, they are just a single element of the overall strategy. Some organizations, whether commercial or government, will turn to their own dedicated servers to process information locally, taking control of their own data needs.

The continued development of the Internet of Things and widespread 5G implementation will enable a new breadth of applications with different data processing requirements. As a result, every server installation will be different, with implementations located in different areas around the world. The growth of edge computing is taking processing equipment away from the data center and into locations close to the point of need. Increasingly sophisticated equipment is being installed in the challenging conditions often experienced in the industrial, transportation and agricultural sectors, along with many other applications far from sheltered environments.

This demand for specificity also creates the need for highly flexible solutions. Users are keen to benefit from the improved performance of the latest data network capabilities, and they need to be confident that their equipment can keep pace with the increasing speed and data requirements. Therefore, the latest server and storage technology must offer flexibility and scalability to accompany higher performance. The key to this adaptability is the concept of modular architecture.

High-Performing Hardware

The latest generation of microprocessors is being developed to produce higher performance and reduce energy consumption. At the same time, supporting hardware must be able to deliver the same performance while minimizing losses. The latest development in the world of connectors is supporting all of these industry requirements. Modularity delivers the ability to reconfigure and upgrade servers to accommodate future growth, and connectors will play a vital role in modular server and storage design.

To support the need for high-performing modularity, Molex continues developing innovative ways to solve the challenge of high-speed connectivity. Traditional computing architecture uses backplanes and large printed circuit boards (PCBs). The pursuit of low losses and improved signal integrity means that alternative techniques are needed to move away from high-loss PCBs. Board-to-board connectors are giving way to cable solutions, with risers employing twinax (twin-axial) cables to allow high-speed data with minimal losses.

At the same time, Molex is working to ensure a cost-effective overall solution in terms of both infrastructure and other associated costs. While it might be tempting to improve the performance of high-speed communications with optical solutions or active devices such as re-timers and linear amplifiers, the energy consumption of these systems and the associated thermal management issues can increase costs to an unacceptable level. By developing passive copper-based systems, such as cabling and connectors that can provide the high performance required, Molex solutions are ensuring customers’ installations remain competitive.

Connectivity That Makes Modular Solutions Possible

Chip manufacturers today are creating solutions that can generate data rates of 112 Gigabits per second (Gbps), with the possibility of 224 Gbps fairly close at hand. With such high speeds, the latest server and storage hardware and connectivity solutions need to deliver flexibility and ease of use without sacrificing performance.

Connectivity is vital to the performance and modularity of the latest server architecture. Learn how a broad portfolio of server and storage solutions from Molex is solving the complex challenge of delivering flexibility and ease of use with the latest standards of signal integrity and high-speed data. And find out about balancing the demands of smaller size and higher density with the ability to manufacture solutions that can deliver the performance required. For the increasingly connected world, Molex innovates to stay ahead of rapidly changing industry needs.

New Product Development Manager
New Product Development Manager